Search Issue Tracker

Fixed in 2018.3

Votes

24

Found in

2017.2.0b5

Issue ID

939548

Regression

No

[Timeline] Clip Root Motion Offsets setting is ignored in the Play mode (inconsistent result between the preview and play mode)

Animation

-

How to reproduce:
1. Open QA-supplied project
2. Load "SCENE" scene
2. Select "Main Camera" in Hierarchy window
3. Hit Play button in the Timeline window to preview and observe the Scene/Game view
4. Now enter Play mode and compare the result with the previous one

Expected result: Timeline animation stays the same both in preview and in play mode.
Actual result: When in play mode, "Clip Root Motion Offsets" setting is ignored producing inconsistent results.

Reproducible with: 2017.3.0a3, 2017.2.0b6, 2017.1.0p3, 2017.1.0f3, 2017.1.0b4

Note: Couldn't test with 2017.1.0b3, 2017.1.0b2, 2017.1.0b1, because "Clip Root Motion Offsets" setting wasn't working at all. (setting wasn't exposed to the inspector?)

Comments (6)

  1. A31e1b5dbf25a97524f550e81bf87800?d=mm

    feds

    Jul 08, 2019 14:57

    I had the error on 2018.2.15 (and it was fixed only on 2018.3) but we manage to find a work around once we weren't able to update the Unity version at this moment, so I really suggest to update to 2018.3 but if you can't here how we managed to solve: The object we are animating need to be disabled and only after everything is loaded (it means after all Awake() called) then we enable the animated object by scrip (use the Start() for example), once the timeline director is loaded and the animated object is disabled, it handles correctly the offsets and the error do not occurs. Tricky but works.

  2. 1d6650910c15cafe800d91d43fbb6553?d=mm

    Cloud-Ninja

    Sep 17, 2018 22:46

    Did anyone test this with the 2018.3.0b1 Beta? I have and it doesn't seem to be fixed. I hope I'm wrong.....

  3. 833141fd001912c660177f775222d2ed?d=mm

    GonzoGan

    Apr 16, 2018 22:28

    Same issue here, will you fix before final release?

  4. Adfbbe28e6fee7c989d72710a02acdab?d=mm

    WITHIN_Nima

    Apr 06, 2018 01:48

    Our team is having the same issue in Unity 2017.3.0f3

  5. B10f26048aed132bf3219c95333c1686?d=mm

    caosdoar

    Feb 22, 2018 22:18

    Having this problem in 2018.1b8 in my case seems to only apply translations on the Y axis in play mode while ignoring X and Z values. Something else is rewritting those values? The Animator itself maybe?

  6. B6a02b44fc22e74e2f1bb0fe25da6971?d=mm

    mgeorgedeveloper

    Dec 06, 2017 17:59

    In my case, the root motion offsets are applied clip to clip, but the first clip's root motion offset is completely ignored when in Play mode.

Add comment

Log in to post comment

All about bugs

View bugs we have successfully reproduced, and vote for the bugs you want to see fixed most urgently.