Search Issue Tracker

Fix In Review for 7.4.0

Votes

14

Found in [Package]

2019.2

2019.3.0f1

2020.1

Issue ID

1204376

Regression

No

[URP] Prefab preview is blank when a Custom Forward Renderer Data and Default Layer Mask is Mixed are used

Package: Scriptable Render Pipeline Universal

-

How to reproduce:
1. Open the attached '1204376-Mesh-preview-invisible.zip' project
2. Select 'Cube' Prefab in the Project Browser
3. Notice that 'Cube' prefab is visible in the Preview of the Inspector
4. Deselect UI from Default Layer Mask in CustomForwardRendererData
5. Select the 'Cube' Prefab in the Project Browser

Expected results: Prefab is visible in the preview
Actual results: Prefab is not visible in the preview

Reproducible with: 2019.2.16f1 (6.9.0, 6.9.2), 2019.3.0f3 (7.1.6), 2020.1.0a16 (7.1.1, 7.1.5, 7.1.6)
Could not test in 2018.4 streams and lower as Custom Forward Renderers was not implemented yet

Notes:
- Reproducible on macOS, Windows
- Video of reproduction attached in Edit

Comments (7)

  1. 78e1e0a03f5c79ad2991a5e37f32e695?d=mm

    BilginSahin

    May 31, 2020 16:39

    Still present in 2019.3.15

  2. 7c237b58d34de24792223445c9b557db?d=mm

    Sakiskid

    May 20, 2020 18:28

    still present in 2019.3.8f1 with custom forward renderer. Switching back to default renderer and reimporting worked for me, though I'm not sure for how long.

  3. 609f7c459c9f9e0ba619960852524664?d=mm

    ihgyug

    May 19, 2020 13:51

    2019.3.13 and the bug is still there

  4. 2cb33c0d80c5cbd1b426c30be3b40d30?d=mm

    spaceemotion

    Apr 13, 2020 11:00

    Also there in 2019.3.9f1

  5. 8382b669e96e7229ef2670c5f253f619?d=mm

    Bip901

    Apr 12, 2020 15:34

    Reproducible in 2019.3.4f1 as well.
    Temporary workaround: change the default layermask to "Everything", right click in the project window near the prefabs, click "reimport", then change the default layermask back to what it was.

    Pros: The previews will be back

    Cons: Every time you edit a prefab its preview will disappear again.

  6. 6840c6cc04ca1eb869975bd1ef0f42cf?d=mm

    velenrendlich

    Jan 13, 2020 12:29

    Here's my temporary solution, I use Unity's default pipeline asset in editor and change it at runtime:

    public class SetRenderPipelineAsset : MonoBehaviour
    {
    public RenderPipelineAsset RenderPipelineAsset;

    void Start()
    {
    QualitySettings.renderPipeline = RenderPipelineAsset;
    }
    }

  7. 970b136c9d48133184fcfbf01e779bf1?d=mm

    online_frog

    Dec 13, 2019 09:44

    As a temporary hack I made a custom quality level pointing to a URP asset with a forward renderer w/o a mixed layer mask on it, and switch to it only while in the editor.

Add comment

Log in to post comment

All about bugs

View bugs we have successfully reproduced, and vote for the bugs you want to see fixed most urgently.